Thursday 18th January 2018

2018 Squad Announcement

New Zealand’s training squad for the 2018 International Mathematical Olympiad was announced at the end of our week-long training camp last week at the University of Auckland. The final team of six to travel to Cluj-Napoca, Romania in July will be decided in April.

This year's squad members are:

  • Grace Chang, Saint Kentigern College
  • Andrew Yian Chen, Saint Kentigern College
  • Rick Han, Macleans College
  • William Han, Macleans College
  • Johnathan Leung, King's College
  • Keiran James Lewellen, Te Aho o te Kura Pounamu
  • Alan Li, Lincoln High School
  • Nathaniel Masfen-Yan, King's College
  • Ishan Nath, John Paul College
  • Xutong Wang, Auckland International College
  • Shine Wu, Newlands College
  • Xinrong Yao, Auckland International College
  • Jasmine Zhang, Macleans College

The team will be accompanied by:

  • Chris Tuffley, Massey University Manawatū (Leader)
  • Ross Atkins, Verizon Connect (Deputy Leader)
  • Phil Truesdale, Papanui High School (Manager)